Livestock Guarding Dogs
The portal for information about the Cão de Gado and other methods of protection

  Visit our Store
The place for great Iberian wolf gifts

  Become a friend of Grupo Lobo

  Follow us on Twitter



Main Menu: The Wolf Worldwide » Species and Subspecies

Species and Subspecies


There are three species of wolves: the red wolf (Canis rufus); the Ethiopian wolf (Canis simensis) and the grey wolf (Canis lupus).  According to some authors, the latter species can be subdivided into about 30 subspecies, including the Iberian wolf (Canis lupus signatus).


Life Med Wolf Project

Please, click on the image

Visit the Iberian Wolf Recovery Centre



Please help and share the campaign "Don't let our wolves become homeless".